This is the testing Godot forums! All forum posts unique to this forum will be deleted! Please use the main forums here for any posts you want to keep. All forum rules still apply.

[SOLVED] playing a random sound after the previous one stops?

lucas2606lucas2606 Posts: 2Member
edited January 2020 in Audio

hi :) i'm new to Godot. this is my first day with the engine and my coding skills are very poor. i'm trying to play a random sound when the previous one stops, but i can't make it. i got a "control" node and 4 audiostreamplayer nodes as childs, "s1", "s2", "s3" and "s4". my control node code is this:

extends Control

var a = RandomNumberGenerator.new()
var sound = 0

func _ready():
a.randomize()
var sound = a.randi_range(1,4)
get_node("s"+str(sound)).play()
pass

func _process(delta):
if get_node("s"+str(sound)).is_active == false:
get_node("s"+str(sound)).play()
pass

the first part of the code works... it randomly plays one of the 4 sounds at the beginning of the scene. i don't now if this is the best way to do it, but it's the way that i found :P
the problem is that i can't make that when that first sound stop, another one start. the conditional "if get_node("s"+str(sound)).is_active == false:" give me the error "invalid get index 'is_active' (on base: null instance)"
probably is a very noob mistake...

Best Answer

Answers

• s9menines9menine Posts: 3Member
    edited January 2020

First off - you probably don't want to put that in the _process function. You might want to define your own functions instead.

Also, a slightly cleaner and less error-prone way of choosing a random one out of a fixed number of choices would be to put them in an array, shuffle() it, and access the first entry.

onready var players: Array = [$s1, $s2, $s3, $s4] # We use the onready keyword because we're dealing with referencing pre-existing nodes, I think

func _ready():
        randomize()

func _random_player() -> AudioStreamPlayer:
        players.shuffle()